Public Transport

TLS operates in a dynamic environment with many stakeholders. Firstly, the national and regional public transport companies involved in the OV-chipkaart system. These are Arriva, Connexxion, EBS, GVB, HTM, NS, Qbuzz, RET, Syntus and Veolia. Together with the local governments (provinces and city regions) they plan transport in their respective regions. We also work with the Student Travel Rights Director, responsible for the student travel product. We are in contact with 9292, for public transport information and the route planner. Advocacy groups also play a role in the implementation and improvement of the OV-chipkaart in the Netherlands. At their request, TLS often provides these parties with information about the central system.


The most important authorities for TLS are:

  • Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment - the Minister is responsible for discontinuing the national public transport ticket and therefore the withdrawal of the strip ticket. The Minister is also the client for NS. From November 2012, Secretary of State Wilma Mansveld is responsible for the Public Transport portfolio.
  • Local Governments - these are the provinces and city regions and therefore also the organisations in which they are represented: the Interprovincial Consultation and the partnership between the seven city regions with regard to traffic and transport.
  • Ministry of Education, Culture and Science in relation to the student travel product. DUO (the ministry's executive organisation) is also important for us, since DUO grants study finance and therefore the right to use the student travel product.
  • Ministry of Finance, in connection with the storage period of personal details for the transaction overview at (Dutch Tax Administration).
  • The Public Prosecution Service and police, since they can request information for justice purposes. These requests must meet specific conditions. We also report to the Public Prosecution Service in the case of fraud.

Supervisory authorities

The most important supervisory authorities for TLS are:
  • The Dutch Data Protection Authority, which monitors compliance with the regulations on cardholders' privacy. From 1 June 2012, an 18-month storage period has been implemented. TLS is therefore compliant in terms of privacy.
  • The Dutch Central Bank monitors compliance with the Financial Supervision Act, together with the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets.
  • The Dutch Authority for Consumers and Markets, which monitors the market to ensure positions of financial power are not abused in terms of pricing of the OV-chipkaart.

Opinion formers

Achieving and maintaining public support and monitoring our image is essential to the position of TLS and the OV-chipkaart. The press is one of the most important influential forces for TLS and OV-chipkaart's image. The perception of target groups with which TLS does not communicate directly depends largely on the press. 


The users of the OV-chipkaart are the passengers. They can choose between a personal OV-chipkaart, an anonymous OV-chipkaart and a business OV-chipkaart from their employer.


Suppliers who provide products and/or services to TLS and other Participants in the OV-chipkaart system are not considered part of the Business Model. They have no direct control over the OV-chipkaart Scheme. Technological innovation from suppliers can only be implemented in the Scheme by Participants. Suppliers can be divided into suppliers of equipment for use and suppliers of the Back Office. 

Advocacy Groups

Many organisations are involved in implementation of the OV-chipkaart. These are formally involved in decision-making connected to public transport, and therefore the OV-chipkaart, both nationally and locally. The Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment also initiated a National Consumer Consultation. This was a consultation between advocacy groups/consumer organisations, the Interprovincial Consultation, the partnership between seven city regions with regard to traffic and transport, TLS, operators and the Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment (chair + secretary). This consultation has since been discontinued.